Course units and programme of study

The programme of study is the set of compulsory and elective course units that the student must take in order to graduate.
Submission of the programme of study for your year of enrolment is compulsory and is required, in particular, for registration for examinations and for completion of the teaching evaluation questionnaires.
All current students must submit their programme of study online via the Esse3 system
The programme of study may differ according to the academic year of enrolment ('cohort'); it may also provide for a choice between different study paths ('curricula').
To see the list of course units that you can include in your programme of study, select the academic year of enrolment and, if available, the curriculum.
Search the course units of the programme of study

List of courses

How the programme of study works

The list of course units in the programme of study represents all the training activities available for each of the years of the degree course and changes according to the year in which the student enrols. ‘Free-choice or restricted-choice' course units are optional learning activities that students may include in their programme of study according to the choice criteria specified on this page; the remaining course units are compulsory for all students.
The programme of study must be submitted online by the student for each year using the ESSE3 system (see dedicated section).
Students are allowed to submit their own programme of study with options other than those presented on this page (and available in ESSE3), as long as it is consistent with achieving the course's learning objectives. In that case, the programme must be submitted to the Course Council for approval.

Attendance of teaching activities, prerequisites and year changes

The student is required to attend at least 75% of each teaching activity (module/discipline) on the curriculum. Professionalising training activities (placements) require 100% attendance.
Attendance is verified by teaching staff, tutors and trainee guides, using the assessment procedures established by the degree course. 
In the absence of any communication from the teaching staff, the student is deemed to have been admitted to the examination of the relevant course.
The student may only enrol for examinations in subsequent years if he or she has passed all those relating to the previous year's syllabus.
Students enrolling for the first time on a course year are defined as ‘in corso’/'within the prescribed time'. Students who have obtained all the certificates of attendance for their course units and have passed the annual placement examination and all but two of the examinations on their programme of study are allowed to pass from one year to the next.
A student who has not fulfilled the requirements for passing to the following year is enrolled as a ‘ripetente’/'repeating student' on the same year of the course.
A student is considered to be ‘fuori corso’/'not completing the course within the prescribed time' when, having attended all the years of the course as defined in the regulations, they have not completed the relevant training activities and acquired the related credits.
A student who, for a number of consecutive academic years amounting to twice the legal duration of the course, has failed to take any examinations laid down in the regulations loses their student status. The ECTS credits acquired during their university studies are certified in the process.